Your platform is my platform – input requested.

The root of my platform is simple: Decide together what kind of world we want to live in and what kind of world we want to hand to our children and then set goals to achieve it. Goals, remember, come in several basic lengths – short, intermediate, and long term with long term being our ultimate aim and the other sets of goals being the helpers for achieving that long term goal.

So what would the ideal world look like?

I believe it should have these traits:

Clean
Peaceful
Diverse
Free
Friendly
Joyful
Fulfilling
Unlimited
Healthy
Advancing

Do you agree?

If so, the question then becomes HOW can we achieve these traits especially when we have a world now which is:

Polluted
Fightful
Oppressive
Less and less free
Distrustful
Stressful
Limiting
Unhealthy
Stagnant

Yes, we can find pockets around the world where one or more of these areas are at least in the direction that we’d like to see them, but the overall planet is not. I would personally like to see each of these ideals reached.

But I am just one man and I am here for you and my children and yours and so the details of my platform will come from the ideas, the wisdom, and the vision of ALL of us. This great land is filled with people such as you who are much more brilliant than I am and who have many never before tried, fantastic approaches to issues that we’ve been trying to solve for decades.

We may not be able to agree on EVERYthing, but we CAN agree on a core set of things and focus on their achievement. The diverseness of this nation and the successful decentralization of our nation’s government will take care of many of the areas we don’t agree on. That’s one of the beauties of the USA as it was originally intended: freedom to live life the way you want. So, I will share my ideas with you and I will listen to you as you share your ideas with me and together we will advance as a nation and as the human race.

This campaign will be unlike any you’ve ever seen. We will likely solve a number of problems even before the election in 2012 because the campaign is not designed to simply create a bunch of TV commercials but rather to get in the trenches with the townspeople around the country and help them develop and implement transformative plans for their own communities.

One reason I believe I’ll stand out significantly in this election and then once I’m in office is that I am seeking to be a facilitator, not a ruler. Others are that I am seeking to activate the nation that has been lulled to sleep by charismatic, hypnotic, promise-breaking politicians. I am seeking to return this office to the status: “of the people, by the people, and for the people”. I am seeking to return this nation to self-rule and return the power to you the rightful owners. I am seeking to coach the nation, and the world, to achieving it’s fullest potential and I believe we haven’t even come close to that ever in our history and have only rarely been encouraged to do so. I am seeking, with your help, to free this nation from the invisible slavery that has been incrementally imposed on us by those who wish to be our owners.

I believe that it should be the Citizens of a nation that create the vision for that nation rather than those who are elected to represent them or to lead the charge. It is this very concept of representation that will guide my heart and mind to serve you to the best of my ability. If we put aside our political, religious and cultural differences, we will see that many of us agree on many things.

I’ll submit to you my belief that some of these are:

1. One size does not fit all, especially in this nation of diversity.
2. The freedom which is the cornerstone of the foundation of our country must not be for sale at any price.
3. Innovation is one of our trademarks as a nation of brave and intelligent people.
4. We must preserve the eco-system because it preserves us.
5. Everyone must have clean air, clean water, and healthy food.
6. We must have a sustainable society.
7. We must maximize self and community governance.
8. We must and can ensure adequate secure and equipped shelter for everyone.
9. We must educate our children according to the world we want to create rather than according to the world we have had up until now.

Before any decision is made, the question must be asked: Are we leaving a legacy that our children will survive to appreciate?

In order to know what we should be planning, we need to know where we’re going. As Zig Ziglar said, “You cannot hit a target that you cannot see and you cannot see a target that you do not have.” How can we plan for a destination that hasn’t been determined yet? So as a nation, we must decide on what kind of a world we want to have and then set goals to achieve it.

Reach for what others have called the “impossible”, for you and I, all of us, have greatness inside of us and we can accomplish very challenging goals and accomplish things way beyond what we have imagined up until now. Many have said that peace is not possible, but I say it’s probable if we put our hearts and minds into it. Many have said that poverty will never be stopped, but I say it can be solved in a matter of months if we innovate and break through old barriers.

How would I seek to implement the solutions that we come up with together? Act as if you have made me the President and seek the best from among you to lead and work on the achievement of each goal. The best leaders are the ones who are able to surround themselves with people smarter and more talented than themselves in various categories and then get out of the way and let those people do what they were born to do and then give them the credit for having done it.

Simple. I believe that these things should have been done long ago but we have NOW and we shouldn’t allow another opportunity to make a difference pass us by.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

You must be logged in to post a comment.
