Help stop bullying, build tolerance programs.

My son Ryan’s Boy Scout troop won’t let him be an Eagle Scout because he’s gay.
Sign My Petition

Viewers –

My son Ryan has been a Boy Scout since he was 6 years old, and now, a few days before his 18th birthday, he has fulfilled all the requirements to be an Eagle Scout. But because Ryan recently came out to his friends and family as gay, leaders from our local Boy Scout troop say they won’t approve Ryan’s Eagle award.

To me, Ryan is perfect. But not everyone treats him that way — in fact, Ryan has been a victim of severe bullying. That’s why, for his final project to become an Eagle Scout, Ryan worked with younger kids to create an anti-bullying “Tolerance Wall” at a local middle school: 288 different tiles showing acts of kindness.

That’s the kind of kid my son is. Instead of lashing out, he helps others feel less alone.That’s why I’m so angry that our local Boy Scout troop leaders want to treat my son as less than other kids just because he’s gay.

I started a petition on Change.org asking our local Boy Scout council (near San Francisco) to approve Ryan’s Eagle award. Click here to add your name.

Ryan worked so hard to earn his Eagle Scout rank. For 12 years, he has worked to attain badges, do community service, and become the kind of exemplary young man the Boy Scouts claim to produce. Gay or straight, I love my son just the same. And I don’t want anyone to treat him differently or make him feel bad about himself because of who he is.

Although the national Boy Scouts have remained firm in their anti-gay discrimination, local Boy Scout councils have started to fight back. Several councils even clarified that they will allow gay scouts after they were petitioned to do so on Change.orgI know that if enough people sign my petition, our local council will give my son Ryan the Eagle Scout award he deserves.

Click here to sign my petition demanding that our local Boy Scout council give my son Ryan his Eagle award.

Thank you for helping me stand up for my son.

Karen Andresen
Moraga, California

  1. No trackbacks yet.

You must be logged in to post a comment.
